jaent gurtler
Janet Gurtler

welcome

RITA ® Finalist Janet Gurtler lives in Calgary Alberta, near the Canadian Rockies, with her husband and son and a chubby Chihuahua named Bruce. She does not live in an Igloo or play hockey, but she does apologize to people when they bump into her.

about janet gurtler

Like all of us, I am different things to different people. Mom. Sister. Auntie. Wife. Daughter. Cousin. Friend. Sales Person. I love all of my roles especially being Mom, but at the end of the day, the person who feels most like me is Writer.

I think I was born a writer, it’s always been the way I express myself best, but my road to becoming an author was a little windy. In college I studied communications and writing but got sidetracked by sales and marketing. These days, I do both. I work as a sales representative full time and write part time. In 2020, I have two books coming out. It’s been a minute, and I’m thrilled!!

Random Janet Gurtler facts

In my late teens and early twenties, I worked as a DJ in a night club. I like to tell people this because it makes me sound cooler than I am.

For a while, I collected weird socks. I don’t anymore. Now I just steal my husbands short golf socks, because they are so comfy and short. He does not approve.


Praise for WHO I KISSED

"Without excess heavy-handedness, Gurtler weaves a tale of collective responsibility as several teens reflect on their actions that one fateful night. A well-crafted story about a student's fight to feel normal again when a community of peers turns on her." - Booklist

Praise for HOW I LOST YOU

"This is a relatable story about nurturing a friendship, and it's not every day that teens will have the chance to read about paintballing. The lesson that Grace learns is a good one, and the strong female characters are a plus" - School Library Journal

Praise for I'M NOT HER

"Rich in characterization, Gurtler's novel wrestles with some serious issues and explores different means of coping (or escaping) yet manages not to be overwhelming or bleak. Just right for fans of Sarah Dessen and Jodi Picoult, this is a strong debut that attempts to answer the question, What does it really mean to live?" - Booklist

Praise for IF I TELL

"Gurtler unabashedly tackles several sensitive topics without sacrificing the story line and constructs a beautiful paradox by making the burden of carrying a secret the factor that enables Jaz to face her outcast fear. This novel also addresses the pressure students feel to fit in and encourages them to stay true to themselves. Sometimes we just need to hear that it's OK to be different."Booklist

friend me follow me

facebook    twitter